2024-04-18 00:16:37
­Tour de France: Who Has Claimed the Yellow Jersey within the Final Decade? – My blog
Home Cycling ­Tour de France: Who Has Claimed the Yellow Jersey within the Final Decade?

­Tour de France: Who Has Claimed the Yellow Jersey within the Final Decade?

­Tour de France: Who Has Claimed the Yellow Jersey within the Final Decade?


If there’s one factor sports activities followers can agree on, it’s the Tour de France. The jewel within the crown {of professional} biking has had followers on the sting of their seat for properly over a century. Let’s face it, the two-wheeled sport isn’t for everybody and might be an acquired style, however when it’s time for Le Tour, the biking world stands nonetheless.

The three,500-kilometer race is a grueling 21-stage check of endurance, psychological toughness, and teamwork. And, in fact, each rider desires to be the one to put on the yellow jersey. However not everybody has the expertise, psychological fortitude, and luck to safe victory. Listed below are the riders which have executed precisely that during the last decade.

2014: Vincenzo Nibali
Vincenzo Nibali turned the tenth-ever Italian victor and simply the second since 1965 when he rode to victory in 2014. His victory for the Kazakh staff Astana was as spectacular because it was necessary, with the game being dragged by means of the mud by self-confessed drug cheat Lance Armstrong. The now-39-year-old was on the peak of his powers again then, and he managed to showcase his grit, willpower, and expertise, to experience down the Champs-Élysées to victory.

2015 – 2017: Chris Froome
Then got here the reign of Chris Froome. The British bicycle owner had already gained the coveted race again in 2013, changing into the second Brit ever to safe the yellow jersey, one yr on from Sir Bradley Wiggins changing into the primary British winner within the 109-year historical past of the occasion. What’s it that they are saying about London buses?

After Froome crashed out on the cobbles of the Roubaix stage in 2014, and the Kenyan-born begin would use that to gas his hearth of dominance. He would go on to win three Excursions in a row between 2015 and 2017, cementing his place as one of many best cyclists that’s ever lived. Froome’s focus lately has been on the Vuelta a España and the Giro d’Italia, however there’s at all times an opportunity he might shake issues up, with a preferred biking sportsbook pricing him as a +60000 outsider for subsequent yr’s race.

2018: Geraint Thomas
2018 was the yr when Geraint Thomas proved that he’s not only a loyal staff participant however a real champion who can declare the final word prize. Regardless of being Froome’s teammate all through his years of dominance, he didn’t again down from the problem when consideration turned to him as staff chief. His regular using and unwavering assist from his staff led him to victory, changing into the fifth Brit in six years to say the yellow jacket. Enterprise had definitely picked up for these London buses alright.

The Welshman was a preferred decide to defend his title in 2019 however was finally pressured to withdraw as a result of damage. That opened the door for…

2019: Egan Bernal
…Colombian Egan Bernal, who gained the 2019 yellow jersey on the age of simply twenty-two years outdated. His hill climbing is otherworldly and that was on full show four-and-a-half years in the past as he stormed to glory, in his first Tour De France no much less. His victory made him the youngest winner of the coveted race in over a decade.

2020 & 2021: Tadej Pogacar
Pogacar’s win in 2020 was nothing in need of extraordinary, as he clawed again an virtually insurmountable hole from his largest rival, Primoz Roglic. However that wasn’t sufficient as he would efficiently defend his crown the next yr, changing into the twenty second man in historical past to win Le Tour a number of instances. And that second win could properly have been much more spectacular than the primary.

That yr, he managed to overhaul the earlier chief, Primož Roglič, in a shocking upset on the ultimate time trial.

2022 & 2023: Jonas Vingegaard
That’s proper, Vingegaard is the reigning holder of the maillot jaune. And identical to his Slovenian rival, he has managed to efficiently retain his title. And it was his most up-to-date victory in 2023 that was maybe one of many best performances on the winding French roads in historical past.

In 2022, the proficient younger Dane eeked out a victory with loads of help from his teammates. Reigning champion Pogacar was an in depth second, ending simply two minutes and 43 seconds behind. Nevertheless, that hole was stretched all the best way out to seven-and-a-half minutes in 2023, the Vingegaard benefitting from selfless teammates as soon as extra.

He’s the short-priced -135 favourite for glory as soon as extra subsequent yr, along with his best rival shortly behind him within the betting odds at +200.

Here’s a abstract of the yellow jacket winners from the earlier ten Excursions de France. As traditional, none of those riders will certainly win in 2024, however they might all change into very fashionable. The Tour de France showcases athletes who’re pushing the boundaries of athletics in each method, bringing out the very best in them. Incomes the yellow jersey requires ability, ardour, and dedication, and it’s a nice accomplishment. Each winner within the final ten years, from Nibali to Pogacar, has irrevocably modified the game.





Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly publication to obtain updates and reminders on what’s cool in street biking?


Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here